常見問題解答

關於樂餉社

樂餉社是誰?

樂餉社是一間於2011年成立的香港註册慈善團體,旨在對抗饑餓和減少優質食物被送往堆填區。按此處了解我們的故事。

你們的工作是什麽?

樂餉社從商界收集剩餘食物再透過本地慈善團體分配給有需要人士。我們亦致力提高香港對食物貧乏、食物浪費和食物銀行的認識。按此處了解我們的工作。

你們在哪裡工作?

香港各處!我們與遍佈九龍、新界和港島的食品公司和慈善機構携手合作。而我們的辨公室及倉庫位於油塘。

樂餉社是如何開始的?

樂餉社始於2009年一個義工自發的食物救援活動。一念熱忱令我們從廢物箱拯救了一盤新鮮麵包,更引領我們去追尋市內食物浪費的狀況。2011年,我們在香港註册成為第88條認可的慈善機構。

你們如何與其他提供食物的慈善機構合作?

樂餉社的服務對象就是其他慈善機構。我們物色和收集剩餘食物,再透過他們分配給弱勢人士。我們的慈善機構合作夥伴分別將我們的捐贈食物烹煮成飯餐、包裝成食物包或以下午茶形式分享給服務對象。

你們會直接配送食物給有需要人士嗎?

不會,我們只會分發食物給慈善機構。通過這些既定的配送渠道,我們能有效和廣泛地服務本地弱勢人士。

你們會烹煮食物嗎?

不會。我們專注收集、儲存和分配食物。你可以想像我們是一間食品捐贈的中央結算行!不過我們會發送食物給一些為服務對象烹煮飯餐的慈善機構。按此處了解我們的慈善機構合作夥伴。

樂餉社的資金來自何處?

我們的資金來自企業、基金、社團和個別人士;另有一眾企業合作夥伴,慷慨為我們義務提供產品和服務。按此處了解如何捐款或成為合作夥伴

你們的團隊有多大?

我們有12名全職員工及五位盡心盡責的董事。除此以外,我們每週有超過100名優秀義工的支持。

你們的倉庫有多大?

我們的倉庫面積超過7,000平方呎,備有温度控制,確保設施內的捐贈食物都能保持最佳狀態。我們擁有步入式冷藏庫和冷凍庫,能安全地儲存新鮮和急凍食品。

提供食物

你們和甚麼類型的食品企業合作?

我們與種植商、製造商、分銷商和零售商合作,把過剩存貨重新分配。那些貨品仍可安全食用,只是已失去其商業價值或不附合商户的要求。捐贈的原因可以是保質期短、接近有效日期、標籖錯誤、品牌停產、庫存過剩、配方的微調或包裝損毁。

你們如何確保食物安全?

我們與食品捐贈者緊密合作,確保發送的捐贈品都是安全合適。食品企業可以參考我們的食物捐贈商指引,衡量他們的食物是否適合捐贈。貨品抵達我們的倉庫後會被分類和檢查。我們也會詳細記錄存貨及隨後配送的資料。這意味着我們可以全程追溯所有捐贈品,並在有需要時進行召回。

如何捐贈過剩的存貨給樂餉社?

樂餉社的營運團隊負責處理所有捐贈。我們了解很多食物捐贈都是特發性質。當你有過剩存貨時,請馬上把產品詳情以電話或電郵通知我們。我們的目標是在48小時內處理所有捐贈品。如你會考慮一個合作形式的長期捐贈,我們樂意與你會面,商討樂餉社可以如何協助。

你們接受哪些食物?

我們接受常温、冷藏和急凍食品,並可處理以卡板計算的大型的捐贈。如你想提供來自酒店或餐飲公司的剩餘熟食,請聯絡我們的夥伴 — 專門處理熟食捐贈的膳連心按此處參閱我們接受的食物。

可以捐贈過期食物嗎?

我們不會接受或分發已過了食用日期的食物。可是,我們接受臨近或已過了最佳食用日期,但仍可安全食用的食物捐贈。食物捐贈者必須為這些貨品以書面提供最後的安全食用日期或過期日。詳情請參考我們的食物捐贈商指引

你們接受非食品捐贈嗎?

樂餉社收集個人護理和家居用品,再分發給我們的慈善團體網絡。我們也歡迎倉庫和辦工室設備,作為營運樂餉社之用。按此處參閱我們徵求的產品和服務。

你們有一個最少的捐贈食物量嗎?

我們接受任何份量的捐贈,多少毋拘!為確保我們可以有效地分配你的捐贈,請預先聯絡我們,提供捐贈食品的大約容量和組成。

你們可以收取我的食物捐贈嗎?

我們會盡可能前往收集。我們擁有一部大型貨車,能容納多個卡板的捐贈;和另一部可存放冷藏貨品的中型貨車。但車隊的日程總是很快訂滿。所以如你可以運送捐贈品到我們位於油塘的倉庫,會是一個大幫忙。

我捐贈的食物會幫助誰人?

樂餉社收到的所有食物捐贈都會用作支援那些為弱勢人士提供食物的本地慈善機構。我們的慈善合作夥伴包括長者中心、庇護中心、中央厨房、課後活動和社區食物銀行。按此處了解我們的慈善合作夥伴。

我並非來自食品企業,可以捐贈食物嗎?

你可以舉辦一個食物募捐活動,協助我們集合更多有營養的食物,再分配給我們的慈善機構網絡。需求最大的是米、麵和食油。我們希望你幫忙把籌集到的捐贈運送至我們的倉庫。如你不能駕駛前來,我們建議你使用貨運服務如 GoGo VanLalamove。 當你抵達我們的倉庫時,請致電2205 6568,我們的團隊樂意協助你卸貨!

領取食物

慈善機構與樂餉社合作有甚麼好處?

我們免費提供優質食物給慈善機構和社區合作夥伴,共超過95個團體受惠。我們的捐贈有助他們派發更高質和多樣化的食物,及把原本用於食物和物流的資金轉放在其他服務上。了解更多請參考慈善機構合作夥伴指引

我的慈善機構如何向樂餉社申領食物?

我們提供優質的食物捐贈給多種不同類型的前綫組織,包括:

  • 宿舍及庇護中心
  • 分發食物包的社福中心
  • 供應飯餐的社區廚房
  • 非牟利院舍
  • 校園早餐會和課後活動中心

如你的慈善機構有興趣領取食物和了解更多,請填妥查詢表格。我們的慈善機構事務經理會與你聯絡。

如何為我的家庭申領樂餉社的食物?

我們只供應食物給慈善機構。如你或你的家庭需要援助,我們建議你聯絡區內的樂餉社慈善合作夥伴。按此處了解我們的慈善合作夥伴。

立即行動

如何捐款給樂餉社?

你可以透過上網、支票或自動櫃員機捐款。詳情請按此處

我的捐款可用作退税嗎?

所有港幣100元以上的捐款均可用作申請退税。如你需要電子捐款收據,請填妥捐款表格

你們會如何運用我的捐款?

你的捐款會用作營運倉庫、車隊和辦工室,讓我們確保剩餘貨物不會被送往堆填區,及免費為慈善合作夥伴物色、收集、儲存和分配食物。

如何成為個人義工?

我們的辨公室、倉庫和每週的麵包收集活動均提供個人義工機會。立即登記成為義工,再查看義工活動日程表上的活動。

義工的最低年齡是多少?

麵包收集活動沒有年齡限制,歡迎所有人參加!至於辦公室和倉庫工作,義工必須是18歲或以上。

團體可以參與嗎?

我們提供機會給團體參加倉務活動,協助我們把食物分類和包裝;或參加麵包收集活動,讓團體成員一起收集剩餘麵包。想了解我們的團體義工活動,請以電郵查詢

如何申請成為實習生?

我們全年都提供實習機會。按此處查看實習職位的職責、要求和任期。所有實習職位均屬非受薪性質。申請人必須為香港永久性居民或持有效工作簽證。

我可以參觀樂餉社嗎?

我們非常好客! 如你是學生,我們建議你參加每月的學生會面活動,你會參觀我們的倉庫和參與一個互動的問答環節。每逢星期二、四晚上的麵包收集活動也是另一個好機會讓你參觀樂餉社和與我們的團隊交流。

如何獲得樂餉社的消息?

訂閱樂餉社的電郵通訊後,你會收到我們的期刊和其他消息,例如活動邀請和季節性項目。

FAQ

FEEDING HONG KONG

Who is Feeding Hong Kong?

Feeding Hong Kong is a Hong Kong registered charity established in 2011. Our mission is to fight hunger and reduce the amount of quality food being sent to our landfills. Find out more about Our Story.

What do you do?

Feeding Hong Kong collects excess food from companies and redistributes it to local charities feeding those in need. We also work to raise awareness about food poverty, food waste and food banking in Hong Kong. Learn more about Our Work.

Where do you work?

We work with food companies and local charities in Kowloon, New Territories and Hong Kong Island. Our office and warehouse are located in Yau Tong.

How did you start?

Feeding Hong Kong started as a volunteer food rescue project in 2009. Our passion to redistribute fresh leftovers from bakeries to local shelters, developed into a quest to bridge the gap between companies with surplus and charities with need. In 2011, we registered as a Section 88 charity in Hong Kong and opened our first warehouse.

How do you work with other food charities?

Feeding Hong Kong is a charity for other charities. We source, collect, store and redistribute surplus food for local charities feeding vulnerable people. They include charities who take our donations and cook then into hot meals, others that pack them into food parcels, and some that share them as snacks.

Do you deliver food directly to people in need?

Feeding Hong Kong only delivers to charities. This approach allows us to divide and conquer: we focus on the logistics whilst our charity partners ensure the food gets to where it can make the biggest difference.

Do you cook food?

Our sole focus is collection, storage and redistribution. You can think of us as a central clearing-house for food donations! Our experienced charity partners such as Food Angel, Food for Good and Jubilee Ministries focus on cooking hot meals for the community. You can find out more about them and our other charity partners here.

How are you funded?

Our funding comes corporates, foundations, community groups and individuals. We also receive pro bono products and services from a generous network of corporate partners. Find out more about how you can Donate or Partner with us.

How big is your team?

We have 12 full-time staff and 5 dedicated board directors. We also have support from over 100 wonderful volunteers a week.

How big is your warehouse?

We have over 7,000 square feet of storage and the equipment and expertise to handle large pallet donations. Our warehouse is temperature controlled to ensure our ambient food donations stay at their best. We also have a walk-in fridge and freezer so that we can safely store chilled and frozen food.

GIVING FOOD

What kind of food companies do you work with?

We work with farms, manufacturers, distributors and retailers to redistribute surplus stocks that are still safe to eat but have lost their commercial value or no longer meet their requirements. Reasons for donation may include short shelf life, approaching sell-by date, labeling error, discontinued brand, surplus inventory, minor recipe variation or damaged external packing.

How do you ensure food safety?

We work closely with our food donors to ensure the food donated is safe and suitable for distribution. Food companies can reference our Food Donor Guidelines to evaluate whether their food is suitable for donation. We then sort and inspect all items when they arrive in our warehouse. We also maintain detailed inventory records of all donated products and onward deliveries. This means we have full traceability on all products donated to us and have the capability to facilitate product recalls if and when required.

How can I donate my excess stocks to Feeding Hong Kong?

Our Operations team handle all food donations to Feeding Hong Kong. We appreciate the ad hoc nature of many food donations so simply call or email us with the product details as and when you have excess stock. We aim to handle all donation offers within 48 hours. If you would like to explore an on-going donation partnership our team would be delighted to meet with you to discuss how we can help.

What food items do you accept?

We accept ambient, chilled and frozen foods, and can handle multi-pallet donations. If you are a hotel or catering company with excess cooked food we recommend you contact our friends at Foodlink who specialise in cooked food donations. Find out more about what we accept.

Can I donate expired food?

We do not accept or distribute any foods that have passed their use by date. However, we do accept donations close to or past their best before date that are still safe and good to eat. For these items, the food donor must provide us in writing with the use by or expiry date at which the food items should be consumed. Please check our Food Donor Guidelines for further information.

Do you accept non-food items?

We collect and redistribute personal care items and household products for our charity network. For our own operations, we also welcome donations of warehouse and office equipment. For a full list of the products and services that we are looking for, check out the FHK Wish List.

Do you have a minimum volume food donation?

We accept all size food donations – large and small! To ensure the most efficient redistribution of your donation, please contact us in advance to let us know the approximate size and product mix of your donation.

Can you collect my food donation?

We will collect whenever possible. We have a truck that can handle multi-pallet donations and a van that can take refrigerated products. However, our schedules do get booked up quickly so if you are able to deliver your donation directly to our Yau Tong warehouse, this makes a big difference.

Who will my food donation help?

All the food donated to Feeding Hong Kong goes to support local charities providing food to vulnerable people. Our charity partners include senior centres, crisis shelters, central kitchens, after school programmes and community food banks. Find out more about our Charity Partners.

I’m not a food company but I want to donate food. How can I help?

Host a Food Drive and help generate additional nutritious food that can be delivered to our charity network. Rice, noodles and cooking oil are the three foods that are most in demand. We ask for your help in delivering food drive donations directly to our warehouse. If you do not have a vehicle, we recommend using a delivery services like GoGo Van or Lalamove. Our team are happy to help with unloading your vehicle when it arrives at our warehouse – just give us a call on 2205 6568 when you arrive!

GETTING FOOD

How do charities benefit from working with Feeding Hong Kong?

Over 95 charities and community partners benefit from getting free quality food from us. Our donations help them increase the quality and variety of food they provide and save money on food and logistics, which they can redirect to other services. Find out more in our Charity Info Pack.

How can my charity apply for food from Feeding Hong Kong?

We provide quality food donations to a wide range of frontline organisations, including:

  • Hostels and shelters providing crisis support
  • Welfare centres distributing food parcels
  • Community kitchens serving hot meals
  • Non-profit residential homes
  • Breakfast clubs and after school centres

If your charity is interested in receiving food and would like to find out more, simply email us. Our Charities Manager will be in touch.

How can my family apply for food from Feeding Hong Kong?

We only supply food to registered charities. If you or your family require support, we encourage you to reach out to a Feeding Hong Kong charity partner in your district. Find out more about our Charity Partners.

TAKING ACTION

How can I donate money to Feeding Hong Kong?

You can donate online, by cheque or ATM. Detailed information of how you can donate is available here.

Is my donation tax deductible?

All monetary donations over HKD100 are fully tax deductible. If you would like an e-tax receipt please complete our Donation Form.

How will my donation be spent?

Your donations support the running of our warehouse, fleet and office. This allows us to ensure surplus stocks don’t end up in landfill and that we can provide free food sourcing, collection, storage and redistribution to our charity partners.

How can I volunteer as an individual?

We offer opportunities for individuals in our office and warehouse, as well as our weekly Bread Runs. To get started, register as a volunteer and then check out the opportunities in our Volunteer Calendar.

How old do you have to be to volunteer?

There is no age restriction for Bread Run – all our welcome! For our office and warehouse sessions, you must be 18 years old or above.

What can I do in a group?

We offer opportunities for groups to help sort and pack food in our warehouse sessions, or work as a team to collect surplus bread in the Bread Run. To find out more about our group volunteer activities email us and our Volunteer Manager will be in touch.

How do I apply for an internship?

We have internship opportunities available throughout the year. The responsibilities, criteria and commitment for each role are detailed here. All internships are unpaid. Candidates must be a Hong Kong permanent resident or hold a valid work visa.

Can I arrange a visit to Feeding Hong Kong?

We love having visitors! If you are a student we encourage you to join one of our monthly Meet and Greet sessions where you can get a tour of our warehouse and take part in an interactive Q&A session. Our Tuesday and Thursday night Bread Runs are another good opportunity for a tour and a chat with our team.

How can I receive news about Feeding Hong Kong?

Subscribe to our mailing list and you will receive our newsletter and other updates such as event invitations and seasonal campaigns.